Sales Tax Changes 2024

Running an ecommerce business these days requires near constant effort to keep up-to-date with the evolving sales tax landscape. Just like in 2023, which saw tens of thousands of sales tax changes, 2024 is set to see a number of sales tax laws shift. That includes everything from more state-specific sales tax holidays, new sales tax laws, sales tax rate changes, additional sales tax exemptions, and more.  

Join us as we kick off 2024 by running through the new sales tax laws in 2024 state by state so you know what to expect this year. We’ll focus on changes to state sales tax law but there might be other changes to local or municipal sales tax laws in the states you do business in. If you want to make sure you’re on top of all the sales tax law changes without having to do all the leg work – TaxCloud can help! 

Alabama 

There are no 2024 Alabama sales tax laws or changes as of January 2024. 

Alaska

There are no 2024 Alaska sales tax updates as of January 2024. 

Arizona 

There are no 2024 Arizona sales tax updates as of January 2024. 

Arkansas 

In 2024, Arkansas has one main sales tax update at the state level. Businesses that gross an average of $5,000 in tax liabilities or more in the previous year are required to file all returns and remittances electronically starting January 1, 2024. 

California 

In 2024, California has no major sales tax updates but as of January 1, 2024, some beverage distributors and manufacturers are required to pay a recycling fee under the California Bottle Bill Act. The amount is between $0.05 to $0.25 depending on the size and type of bottle. 

Colorado 

There are no 2024 Colorado sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Connecticut 

There are no 2024 Connecticut sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Delaware 

There are no 2024 Delaware sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Florida 

On January 1, 2024, Florida fuel tax rates on motor fuel and diesel fuel increased from 20.2 cents per gallon to 21 cents per gallon. These increases are part of a set of annual adjustments since Florida tax law requires annual adjustments to state fuel tax rates.  

Georgia 

In Georgia, 2024 sees sales tax changes to digital products, which will no longer be exempted from the state’s 4% sales tax as of January 1, 2024. Not all types of digital products will be taxed. Georgia’s sales tax update specifies that it only applies to digital audio-visual works, digital audio works, or digital books. 

That includes: 

  • Artwork
  • Photographs
  • Periodicals
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Video or audio greeting cards
  • Video games or electronic entertainment 

Hawaii 

In 2024, Hawaii is instituting a new excise tax of 70% of the wholesale price assessed on electronic smoking devices and liquids. 

Idaho

There are no 2024 Idaho sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Illinois 

There are no 2024 Illinois sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Indiana 

There are no 2024 Indiana sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Iowa 

There are no 2024 Iowa sales tax changes but on December 31, 2023, a sales tax exemption for purchases of computer peripherals by insurance companies, financial institutions, and commercial enterprises expired meaning that these entities will not have to pay Iowa’s sales tax. 

Kansas 

Kansas changed its sales tax return filing requirements on January 1, 2024. Now, a retailer who collects more than $1,000 but less than $5,000 in Kansas state sales tax in a calendar year can file and remit their returns annually. Before this Kansas sales tax law change, the threshold for filing an annual return was between $400 and $4,000 in a calendar year. 

Kansas also changed its sales tax rate for food and food ingredients from 4% to 2% starting on January 1, 2024. 

Kentucky 

There are no 2024 Kentucky sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Louisiana 

There are no 2024 Louisiana sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Maine 

Maine is cracking down on vaping with a 43% excise tax on the wholesale price of electronic smoking devices and liquids. 

Maryland 

There are no 2024 Maryland sales tax law changes as of January 2024. 

Massachusetts 

There are no 2024 Massachusetts sales tax law changes as of January 2024. 

Michigan 

While there are no major sales tax updates in Michigan in 2024, January 1, 2024, marks a change in the state’s gasoline and diesel monthly prepaid sales tax rate as occurs month. The amount tax decreases to 17 cents per gallon of gas and 22.5 cents per gallon of diesel. 

Minnesota 

Minnesota has no changes on sales tax rates in 2024 but the state’s cigarette sales tax has increased to 73.9 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. 

Mississippi 

There are no 2024 Mississippi sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Missouri 

There are no 2024 Missouri sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Montana 

There are no 2024 Montana sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Nebraska 

There are no 2024 Nebraska sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Nevada 

There are no 2024 Nevada sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

New Hampshire 

There are no 2024 New Hampshire sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

New Jersey 

There are no 2024 New Jersey sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

New Mexico 

There are no 2024 New Mexico sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

New York 

In 2024, New York State will be reducing its fuel tax rates to 17.3 cents per gallon of motor fuel and 15.55 cents per gallon for diesel. 

North Carolina 

There are no 2024 North Carolina sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

North Dakota 

There are no 2024 North Dakota sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Ohio 

In 2024, Ohio’s Commercial Activity Tax (CAT) will undergo significant changes. The tax is imposed on companies doing business in Ohio and measured by the gross receipts from business activity in the state. For tax periods that begin on or after January 1, 2024, the annual minimum for the CAT has been eliminated and the exclusion amount has been increased from $1 million to $3 million in gross receipts. 

Oklahoma 

In 2024, Oklahoma eliminated its state franchise tax. The tax was previously levied at a rate of $1.25 per $1,000 of capital allocated or employed in Oklahoma. 

Oregon 

Oregon has increased its fuel tax rates in 2024. As of January 1, 2024, the fuel tax is now 40 cents per gallon for motor vehicle fuel and diesel fuel. 

Pennsylvania 

There are no 2024 Pennsylvania sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Rhode Island 

There are no 2024 Rhode Island sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

South Carolina 

There are no 2024 South Carolina sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

South Dakota 

There are no 2024 South Dakota sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Tennessee 

There are no 2024 Tennessee sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Texas 

There are no 2024 Texas sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Utah 

On January 1, 2024, Utah increased its motor fuel excise tax rate from 34.5 cents per gallon to 36.5 cents per gallon.

Vermont 

There are no 2024 Vermont sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Virginia 

There are no 2024 Virginia sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Washington 

There are no 2024 Washington sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

West Virginia 

There are no 2024 West Virginia sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Wisconsin 

There are no 2024 Wisconsin sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

Wyoming 

There are no 2024 Wyoming sales tax changes as of January 2024. 

How to Keep Track of Sales Tax Law Changes

Now that you’ve caught up on all the 2024 sales tax law changes implemented on January 1, 2024, you might think you have all the info you need to handle sales tax in 2024 like a pro. Not so fast! States can make changes to their sales taxes during the year as well. Whether they’re decreeing a new sales tax holiday or creating a new sales tax exemption, there are a number of sales tax changes that can be implemented during the year – sometimes with little advance notice. 

So, how do you stay up to date? The easiest way is to let TaxCloud keep track of your sales tax for you. We can handle everything from calculating your sales tax to filing and remitting your taxes. We keep on top of any changes to sales taxes so you don’t have to. 

Get in touch to learn how we can help! 

Tennessee Introduces Permanent Sales Tax Exemption for Firearm Safes and Safety Devices

Tennessee law has issued a permanent sales tax exemption for firearm safes and firearm safety devices that will take effect on November 1, 2023. 

The exemption was initially introduced from July 1, 2021 until June 30, 2022 to reduce the cost barriers to firearm safes and devices that would help buyers securely store their firearms and prevent unauthorized access. Now the sales tax exemption is back in place — and this time for good. 

Read on for more details and requirements for reporting exempt sales.

What does Tennessee’s Firearm Safes and Safety Devices exemption include?

Firearm safes, firearm safety devices, locking devices for firearms, and firearm trigger locks will once again be exempted from state and local sales taxes. The exemption will apply to both the sales and installation of these items.

The new Tennesse law defines a “firearm safe” as a locking container or other enclosure designed for the secure storage of one or more firearms. The container must be equipped with a padlock, key lock, or combination lock, and cannot be made of glass.

The term “firearm safety devices” includes devices that prevent firearms from being operated without first deactivating the device, as well as devices designed to prevent unauthorized access to firearms.

What doesn’t the sales tax exemption include? 

It’s important to note that this exemption doesn’t apply to all firearms or firearm accessories and only applies to items that are solely designed for firearm safety and security purposes. For example, firearm safes that double as general-purpose safes won’t be exempted from sales tax. Furthermore, the exemption won’t apply to firearms themselves, nor will it apply to ammunition storage or reloading equipment.

How to report exempt sales

All dealers must properly report exempt sales of firearm safes and safety devices. To do so, all taxable and exempt sales should be reported on Page 1, Line 1 (Gross Sales) of the Tennessee sales tax return.

Additionally, exempt sales of firearm safes and safety devices should be reported on Schedule A, Line 9 (Other Deductions).

This permanent exemption is a positive step towards ensuring the safe and responsible storage of firearms in Tennessee. Businesses that sell these items might also see an increase in sales as a result of the exemption.

Check out our state-by-state Sales Tax Guides for more info on exemptions and sales tax.

Sales Tax Holidays: November 2023

Sales tax holidays give shoppers a chance to save when they buy certain products or from certain retailers. Many states offer tax holidays at specific times of year to help give businesses and consumers a boost. While November is typically a big month for sales and shopping, it’s not a big month for sales tax holidays. Just one state, New Mexico, has a tax holiday in November.

What’s a Sales Tax Holiday?

On sales tax holidays, retailers can’t collect sales tax when customers purchase qualifying items. Examples of popular sales tax holidays include back-to-school, disaster prep, and energy-saving appliances. 

Sales tax holidays can make life a little bit trickier for retailers, as they need to know what items are included in the holiday and whether it extends to local sales tax or is just for state taxes. 

New Mexico Sales Tax Holiday

Small Business Saturday comes the day after Black Friday. It’s meant to be a day for celebrating and supporting mom-and-pop businesses. Retailers often offer sales and specials on Small Business Saturday to encourage people to shop.

New Mexico sweetens the deal by turning Small Business Saturday into a sales tax holiday. Retailers who qualify can deduct the gross receipts tax (New Mexico’s version of sales tax) from sales of qualifying personal property, which must be priced under $500.

True to its name, the Small Business Saturday tax holiday is open to small businesses only. To qualify, a company must have fewer than 10 employees throughout the year. It also must have its primary business in New Mexico.  

This year’s Small Business Saturday tax holiday takes place on November 25. 

What Does It Mean for You?

If your company is based in New Mexico and has less than 10 employees, then you may need to deduct sales tax from any purchases made on November 25. This isn’t a place where you need to worry about having physical or economic nexus—the holiday is only open to companies that have New Mexico as their primary business location.  

To claim the sales tax holiday deduction, you need to include the appropriate deduction code when you file your sales tax return in New Mexico. 

Not sure what any of that means? TaxCloud can help. Our sales tax filing services let you focus on your business while reducing your costs. Talk to us today to learn more.

Ohio Sales Tax Updates: Exemptions for Baby Products

Starting October 1, 2023, Ohio’s Operating Budget introduced new sales tax exemptions related to children and childcare-related expenses. Let’s dive into the details.

Children’s Diapers

Section R.C. 5739.02(B)(60) exempts children’s diapers from sales tax and includes new definitions of both children’s and adult diapers. A diaper is now considered an absorbent garment worn by humans who are incapable of or have difficulty controlling their bladder or bowel movements. Diapers marketed to be worn by children are considered “children’s diapers” and those marketed to be worn by adults are considered “adult diapers”.

Therapeutic and Preventative Creams and Wipes

The new law also provides an exemption for sales of therapeutic or preventative creams and wipes primarily intended for children’s skin. It’s important to note that this exemption applies only to topical treatments marketed for kids. So, your standard grooming and hygiene products won’t fall under this category, even if they’re over-the-counter drugs.

Child Restraints and Booster Seats

Sales of child restraint devices or booster seats that meet the National Highway Safety Administration standard for child restraint systems under 49 C.F.R. 571.213 are now exempt from sales tax. Safety first!

Cribs

Sales of cribs intended for children’s sleeping accommodations are now exempt from sales tax. To qualify for the exemption, these cribs must also meet federal safety regulation standards 16 C.F.R. 1219 or 16 C.F.R. 1220.

Strollers

Transporting your child just got a tax break too. Sales of strollers meant for kids from infancy to about thirty-six months of age that meet the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission safety standard for carriages and strollers under 16 C.F.R. 1220 are now exempt. This includes various types of strollers, such as folding or collapsible strollers, convertible car seats/strollers, and jogging strollers.

 

Let’s address some common questions about Ohio’s Sales tax exemption for baby products:

 

When does the new exemption start?

The exemption only applies to sales made on or after October 1, 2023.

 

Is there a spending limit?

No, there’s no limit on how much you can spend to qualify for the exemption.

 

What if I’m charged sales tax? 

If you think you were wrongly charged sales tax on an exempt product, you can apply for a sales tax refund using the Sales/Use Tax Application for Refund (ST AR) form. Be sure to include proof of payment. 

 

Do online purchases from companies located outside Ohio count? 

Absolutely! The exemption applies to any purchases made while living in or located in Ohio, whether they’re online or in-store. If you believe you’ve been wrongly charged sales tax on an online purchase of an exempt product, provide proof of purchase and apply for a refund using the Sales/Use Tax Application for Refund (ST AR) form.

 

For more information on Ohio sales and use tax laws, visit the Ohio Department of Taxation’s FAQ section.

 

So, there you have it, folks. Ohio’s got your back when it comes to taking care of your little ones. Happy shopping and enjoy those tax exemptions!

Want to learn how we can take sales tax off your plate? Talk to our team of TaxGeeks today.

Sales Tax Holidays: October 2023

During a sales tax holiday, items that normally have sales tax are tax-free. States have the option of choosing when to hold a sales tax holiday and what items to exempt from the tax. Often, sales tax holidays coincide with seasonal events, such as computers, clothing, and school supplies being tax-free around back-to-school time. 

October isn’t a particularly busy month for sales tax holidays, but a handful are taking place across the country.

Alaska

While Alaska has no state-wide sales tax, many of its municipalities do. In the past, the municipality of Skagway has passed resolutions declaring a sales tax holiday starting in October and stretching through March of the next year. During that time, all sales are exempt from the municipality’s usual 5% tax rate.

Nevada

Sales tax holidays are usually for specific products, such as clothing, food, or computers. But in some cases, they can be for specific people. 

From October 27 through October 29, 2023, members of the Nevada National Guard and their families can claim a sales tax exemption. Dubbed “Nevada Day,” the annual sales tax holiday is usually celebrated on the last day of October but was moved to Friday, October 27 this year. 

Nevada Day works a bit differently from other sales tax holidays. Instead of retailers not charging or collecting sales tax during the event, it’s up to members of the Nevada National Guard to claim the exemption and request a refund from the Department of Taxation.  

Tennessee

October is the final month of a three-month sales tax holiday in Tennessee. Starting in August, the state has exempted food and food ingredients from sales tax. The sales tax holiday is expected to help people in Tennessee save more than $270 million in sales tax. 

Certain types of food, such as candy and prepared foods, aren’t included in the sales tax holiday. Alcoholic beverages, tobacco products, and dietary supplements are not part of the tax holiday. 

Virginia

Virginia usually holds a back-to-school, energy-efficiency, and emergency preparedness sales tax holiday at the end of August. During the three-in-one holiday, the following are all exempt from sales tax:

  • School supplies (under $20 per item)
  • School clothes and shoes (under $100 per item) 
  • Gas-powered chainsaws (under $350 per chainsaw)
  • Portable generators (under $1,000)
  • Chainsaw accessories (under $60 each)
  • Qualifying EnergyStar or WaterSense products (under $2,500 each)

 

This year’s triple-whammy sales tax holiday got pushed to October as the state was still figuring out its budget in August. The holiday starts on Friday, October 20, and ends at the stroke of midnight on Sunday, October 22.

Sales tax holidays are good news for shoppers, but what do they mean for you as the seller? If you’ve been keeping your taxability information codes (TICs) up to date, not much. Your TICs should automatically update to reflect any applicable sales tax holidays, whether in October or another time of the year. 

Want to make sure you’ve got it right? We can help. Get in touch, and we’ll show you how TICs apply the correct sales tax to an order, sales tax holiday or not.

Michigan Delivery and Installation Rule Changes: What It Means

Sales tax typically applies when a company sells tangible products or services in a state where it has nexus. Some states also charge sales tax on delivery or installation costs. In Michigan, delivery and installation charges are no longer subject to tax. Here’s what the new rule means and how to calculate the tax going forward.  

What Are Michigan’s Delivery and Installation Charges?

Delivery, also known as shipping, charges are the costs of transporting goods or services. Sellers are free to set the fee for delivery or shipping and require their customers to pay it. 

Installation charges are the costs of placing or installing a product or service in the customer’s home or place of business. When someone buys a refrigerator online, they may choose to pay a fee to have a professional bring it into their home, unbox it, place it in the right spot, and plug it in. 

Before April 26, 2023, businesses had to add sales tax to Michigan delivery and installation charges. Starting April 26, 2023, delivery and installation costs are no longer subject to sales tax as long as certain conditions are met.

How Do You Determine if You Need to Tax on Michigan Delivery and Installation Charges?

Figuring out if you need to add sales tax to Michigan delivery and installation charges is pretty straightforward. 

You don’t have to tax delivery and installation if you itemize those costs separately on your customer invoices and if you keep records showing how you calculated the sales tax for those transactions. 

If your customer’s invoice looks like this, you don’t have to collect tax on delivery and installation costs:

  • Four-seater sectional couch: $2,500
  • Delivery charge: $50
  • Installation and set-up charge: $100
  • Sales tax: $150

 

In this case, you only need to charge sales tax on the cost of the couch, $150 (6%, Michigan’s sales tax rate). 

If the following apply, you do need to continue to collect sales tax on delivery and installation charges:

  • You didn’t separately itemize the delivery and installation costs or keep records of the calculation
  • The transaction involved the delivery of electricity or gas (artificial or natural) by a utility

 

Let’s say you sold a couch to a customer but included the cost for delivery and set-up in the furniture price. You need to collect sales tax on delivery and installation charges if your customer’s invoice looks like this: 

  • Four-seater sectional couch: $2,650
  • Sales tax: $159

Why Did Michigan Make the Change?

Michigan made the sales tax change for a few reasons. The state determined that the old way of collecting sales tax on delivery and installation charges was confusing. 

It also decided that the old way of collecting tax on delivery and installation charges created a disadvantage for businesses that offer customers “all-in-one” service. 

What if Your Company Owed Back Taxes?

Michigan’s delivery and installation charges tax rule is retroactive. That means the state’s treasury isn’t going to issue new delivery or installation charges tax assessments for periods before April 26, 2023. 

The Treasury is also identifying and canceling any outstanding sales tax balances for delivery and installation charges that occurred before April 26, 2023. 

Can You Get a Sales Tax Refund?

If your company paid sales tax on Michigan delivery or installation charges before April 26, 2023, you’re not entitled to a refund.

For transactions that occur after April 26, 2023, customers have the right to request a sales tax refund if your company erroneously collects sales tax on delivery or installation costs. As the seller, you can refuse the refund but must then pay any sales tax collected to the state treasury. 

If you agree to the refund, you must pay the customer the amount of sales tax collected in error. You can then request a refund from the Treasury for your business. 

Need more help deciphering what Michigan’s delivery and installation charges tax change means for your business? Our TaxGeeks are standing by. Get in touch and we’ll help you stay sales tax compliant.

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 2023

Most states’ sales tax filing due date is on the 20th for companies that file monthly returns. But there are a few outliers, including states that expect payment by the end of the month. Here are the due dates you need to know for August 2023.

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 15

  • Maine: Monthly sales tax due

 

Maine’s sales tax filing due date is on the 15th of the month after the activity took place. In August, you’re filing a return for July.

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 21

 

  • Alabama: Monthly sales tax due
  • Arizona: Monthly sales tax return due
  • Arkansas: Monthly sales tax due
  • Colorado: Monthly sales tax due
  • District of Columbia: Monthly sales tax due
  • Florida: Monthly sales tax due
  • Georgia: Monthly sales tax due
  • Hawaii: Monthly sales tax due
  • Idaho: Monthly sales tax due
  • Illinois: Monthly sales tax due
  • Indiana: Monthly sales tax due
  • Kentucky: Monthly sales tax due
  • Louisiana: Monthly sales tax due
  • Maryland: Monthly sales tax due
  • Michigan: Monthly sales tax due
  • Minnesota: Monthly sales tax due
  • Mississippi: Monthly sales tax due
  • Nebraska: Monthly sales tax due
  • New Jersey:  Monthly sales tax due
  • New York: Monthly sales taxes due
  • North Carolina:  Monthly sales tax due
  • Oklahoma: Monthly sales tax due
  • Pennsylvania: Monthly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Puerto Rico: Monthly sales tax due
  • Rhode Island: Monthly sales tax due
  • South Carolina: Monthly sales tax due
  • South Dakota: Monthly sales tax due
  • Tennessee: Monthly sales tax due
  • Texas: Monthly sales tax due
  • Virginia: Monthly sales tax due
  • West Virginia: Monthly sales tax due
  • Wisconsin: Monthly sales tax due

 

The 20th of the month is a popular sales tax filing due date, but since the 20th falls on a Sunday this year, the due date gets pushed to the following business day, August 21. 

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 23

  • Ohio: Monthly sales tax due

 

Ohio’s monthly sale tax returns are due by the 23rd, which falls on a Wednesday this year.

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 25

  • Kansas: Monthly sales tax due
  • New Mexico: Monthly sales tax due
  • Vermont: Monthly sales tax due
  • Washington: Monthly sales tax due

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 30

  • Massachusetts: Monthly sales tax due

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: August 31

  • Alaska: Monthly sales tax due (although Alaska doesn’t have a state sales tax, many cities do)
  • California: Monthly sales tax due
  • Connecticut: Monthly sales tax due
  • Iowa: Monthly sales tax due
  • Missouri: Monthly sales tax due
  • Nevada: Monthly sales tax due
  • North Dakota: Monthly sales tax due
  • Utah: Monthly sales tax due
  • Wyoming: Monthly sales tax due

 

The last day of the month is another popular sales tax due date.

Simplify Your Sales Tax Return Filing

Need help keeping track of your monthly sales tax filing deadlines? TaxCloud’s sales tax filing services streamline sales tax filing wherever and whenever your returns are due. 

Don’t live in fear of missing a deadline. We’ve got you covered. Get in touch, and we’ll show you how it works.

Sales Tax Nexus in Louisiana: What’s New?

Some states require businesses to reach a sales threshold before paying sales tax. Others require businesses to reach a transaction threshold. In a few states, it’s an either/or situation.

Sales tax nexus in Louisiana was previously an either/or situation. But that’s changing on August 1, which should be good news for ecommerce businesses everywhere.

Nexus: A Refresher Course

What’s nexus again?

The short and simple answer is your company’s connection to a state. Nexus rules vary by state, but one thing is constant. Ever since South Dakota v. Wayfair, a business doesn’t have to have a physical presence in a state to trigger nexus. Economic nexus is sufficient for a state to require your company to collect and pay sales tax.

States typically have thresholds that businesses need to reach before paying up. If a state has a sales threshold, your company needs to collect and pay tax once it reaches a dollar amount in sales in that state, like $100,000.

Some states have a transaction threshold, which requires companies to pay sales tax once they make a certain number of sales, such as 200. 

Sales Tax Nexus in Louisiana

Sales tax nexus in Louisiana required sellers to collect and pay tax when they had either $100,000 in sales or 200 transactions. That placed a heavy tax burden on sellers with a high number of low-value sales.

For example, a business that sells inexpensive products could easily have just $1,000 in sales but more than 200 transactions.

Starting on August 1, 2023, Louisiana is doing away with the transaction threshold. The state’s legislature voted unanimously to repeal the transaction threshold. 

The change in the sales tax nexus in Louisiana also affects the sales threshold for some companies. Starting in August, the threshold for marketplace facilitators changes from $100,000 in gross sales to $100,000 in retail sales. Wholesale or resale sales won’t count toward the threshold limit.

What the Change Means for You

If your company previously met Louisiana’s transaction threshold but not the sales threshold, the sales tax nexus change can mean you no longer need to collect, pay or file sales tax in the Pelican State.

Of course, if you need clarification on whether you have nexus in Louisiana or your company’s sales tax obligations with the state, we’re here for you. TaxCloud automates sales tax compliance.

We’ll make sure your business collects the right amount of sales tax during every transaction. Once Louisiana’s sales tax nexus change goes into effect, our software will automatically include the update, so you don’t have to worry about collecting tax your company doesn’t actually owe.

States update their sales tax rules and nexus requirements frequently. Our TaxGeeks stay on top of all the latest changes. 

We’ll help you stay compliant no matter what the rules are. Get a sales tax compliance assessment today to see what you might owe and where.

Sales Tax Filing Due Dates: July 2023

Sales tax filing due dates vary by state. To mix things up, some states have different deadlines based on how frequently your company files. As we round into a new fiscal year (or the third quarter, depending on how you roll), here are the due dates you need to know for July.

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 17

  • Maine: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due


Maine’s typical
sales tax filing due date is the 15th of the month, but since that falls on a Saturday in July, the due date gets pushed to Monday, July 17.

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 19

  • Florida: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due


In Florida, sales tax is due on the first of the
month following the reporting period, but the state is nice enough to give businesses a 20-day grace period. So if you file and pay your Florida sales tax by July 19, you’ll avoid a late fee and interest.

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 20

  • Alabama: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Arkansas: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Colorado: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • District of Columbia: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Georgia: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Hawaii: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Idaho: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Illinois: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Indiana: Monthly sales tax due*
  • Iowa: Monthly sales tax due*
  • Kentucky: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due*
  • Louisiana: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Maryland: Monthly quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Michigan: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Minnesota: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Mississippi: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Nebraska: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • New Jersey:  Monthly and quarterly sales tax due, quarterly pre-pay taxes due
  • New York: Quarterly pre-pay taxes due
  • North Carolina:  Monthly sales tax due*
  • Oklahoma: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Pennsylvania: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Puerto Rico: Monthly sales tax due
  • Rhode Island: Monthly sales tax due*
  • South Carolina: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • South Dakota: Monthly, bimonthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Tennessee: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due*
  • Texas: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Virginia: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • West Virginia: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Wisconsin: Monthly sales tax due*


July 20 is a busy day for sales tax. Note that some states, such as Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky and North Carolina, have different due dates depending on whether your business files monthly, quarterly or semi-annually.

* = states with multiple due dates

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 24

  • Ohio: Monthly and semi-annual sales tax due


Maine’s monthly and semi-annual sale tax returns
are typically due by the 23rd, but since that falls on a Sunday in July, the due date gets pushed to the 24th.

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 25

  • Kansas: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • New Mexico: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Vermont: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Washington: Monthly sales tax due*


* = states with multiple due dates

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 28

  • Arizona: Monthly and quarterly transaction privilege tax due


Fun fact: Arizona calls its sales tax a “transaction privilege tax” and
taxes companies for the privilege of doing business in the state.

Sales Tax Filing Due Date: July 31

  • Alaska: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • California: Monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, fiscal annual and quarterly pre-pay sales tax due
  • Connecticut: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Indiana: Fiscal annual sales tax due*
  • Iowa: Quarterly prepay and quarterly sales tax due*
  • Kentucky: Fiscal annual sales tax due*
  • Massachusetts: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Missouri: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Nevada: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • North Carolina: Quarterly sales tax due*
  • North Dakota: Monthly, quarterly and semi-annual sales tax due
  • Rhode Island: Quarterly sales tax due*
  • Tennessee: Fiscal annual sales tax due*
  • Utah: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due
  • Washington: Quarterly sales tax due*
  • Wisconsin: Quarterly sales tax due*
  • Wyoming: Monthly and quarterly sales tax due


The last day of the month is another popular sales tax deadline. Note that some states, such as North Carolina and Rhode Island, collect sales tax for quarterly filers on July 31, rather than on July 20.

* = states with multiple due dates

Simplify Your Sales Tax Return Filing


Don’t want to set up a million calendar reminders just to keep up with all the different sales tax filing due dates? We hear ya. Our
sales tax filing services automate the process of filing and paying your sales taxes wherever and whenever they’re due. 

Say goodbye to pesky reminders or the fear of missing a deadline. TaxCloud has you covered. Contact us today and we’ll show you how it works.

Ecommerce Sales Tax Rate Changes in 2023: The Colorado Retail Delivery Fee

When the Colorado retail delivery fee was rolled out in July 2022, things got off to a rocky start.

One year later, the state passed further legislation exempting certain retailers from the fee. It’s just one of a few Colorado eCommerce sales tax rate changes in 2023. Here’s what it means for you.

Colorado Retail Delivery Fee Details

Colorado’s retail delivery fee was the first of its kind, a 27-cent fee on the delivery of tangible goods to addresses in Colorado. The purpose of the fee is to support the Centennial State’s transportation infrastructure. 

Initially, retailers had to list the fee on the invoice or receipt, collecting it from each customer. The fee applied per delivery, so no matter how many items were purchased or the size of a delivery, it was 27 cents.

Sellers pay the retail delivery fee to the state when they file and pay their sales tax. The fee is only collected with delivery orders when sale tax is collected, too. If a customer’s order contains only items that are tax-exempt, sellers don’t have to collect the retail delivery fee.

Exemptions to the Colorado Retail Delivery Fee

Starting July 1, businesses with less than $500,000 in sales the previous year no longer need to collect the fee.

The new legislation also allows sellers to pay the fee out of their own pockets rather than requiring them to pass it on to their customers or include it as a line item on invoices or receipts. 

Colorado Sales Tax Rate Changes in 2023

Colorado didn’t just tweak the requirements for the Retail Delivery Fee. It also changed the rate. Starting July 1, the fee will increase to 28 cents per delivery. 

It’s just one of a few Colorado eCommerce sales tax rate changes in 2023. State and local sales taxes get updated twice a year, on January 1 and July 1. In July of this year, several Colorado cities are updating their sales tax exemptions while Grand Junction, Colorado, is bumping its sales tax rate up to 3.39% from 3.25%. 

What Do These Sales Tax Rate Changes Mean for Your Business?

What do Colorado’s retail delivery fee and sales tax rate changes mean for your ecommerce business? If you have nexus with the state and need to collect tax, the amount you collect will change in certain areas. 

But don’t sweat those changes. TaxCloud will automatically make the adjustments, so you can be confident that you’re collecting the right tax amount on every sale. Talk to our team today to learn more.